top of page
Wurstkuchl Album

in the past

The origin of the historic Wurstkuchl was a small building leaning against the city wall, which served as a construction office during the construction of the stone bridge from 1135 to 1146. When the building, which was celebrated as the eighth wonder of the world at the time, was completed, the construction office moved out and the small building became the "food stall on the crane". The customers of the cookshop were port and construction workers, hence the name »Kranchen«, the word for crane or cranes at the time. There were many port workers because the wealthy commercial patricians of the Free Imperial City of Regensburg used the port intensively for centuries as a transshipment point for goods from all over the world. The hungry construction workers, on the other hand, came mainly from the construction site of the Regensburg Cathedral.

uncle

Hans

men with horses

aunt

Anna

»aufbrezlt«

Great-grandma

Great-Grandpa

Centa & Hans

Schricker

aunt

Elsa

a little bit of

Carnival!

afterward

When the boiled meat in the cookshop was replaced by the finer sausages cannot be precisely determined. Presumably they were introduced in 1806 when the historic sausage kitchen was sold by the city treasury to the cookery chef Wolfgang Schricker. At the beginning of the 19th century, with the new owner Wolfgang Schricker, the era of the Schricker family begins, which extends to the current owners, the Schricker-Meier family.

konfetti_animated.gif

Luise
Willer

Margot Hilscher

... and some early celebrities

Hans
Moser

Centa
Schricker

Great-grandma

Centa

Grandpa

Hans

aunt

Elsa

granny

Helene

today

Admittedly, the historic Wurstkuchl is today - along with the cathedral and the Steinerner Brücke - a bit of a "must-see travel guide" for most Regensburg visitors. We look forward to the many guests from all over the world who give the old sausage cake a touch of international flair. We are and will continue to be a place of tradition. This is especially true for the quality of our food and drinks. Not least because of this, the people of Regensburg have remained loyal to us for many centuries.

Brigitte 
Meier

Metzgerbagage.jpg

d '

Butcher Bagage

bottom of page

FRÜHER

Der Ursprung der historischen Wurstkuchl war ein kleines, an die Stadtmauer angelehntes Gebäude, das während des Baus der steinernen Brücke von 1135 bis 1146 als Baubüro diente. Als das seinerzeit als achtes Weltwunder gefeierte Bauwerk vollendet war, zog das Baubüro aus und das kleine Gebäude wurde zur »Garküche auf dem Kranchen«. Die Kundschaft der Garküche waren Hafen- und Bauarbeiter, daher auch der Name »Kranchen«, das damalige Wort für Kran bzw. Kräne. Hafenarbeiter gab es viele, weil die reichen Handelspatrizier der Freien Reichsstadt Regensburg den Hafen jahrhundertelang intensiv als Umschlagplatz für Waren aus aller Welt nutzten. Die hungrigen Bauarbeiter kamen dagegen überwiegend von der Baustelle des Regensburger Doms.

Onkel

Hans

d' Manna

und

d' Rössa

Tante

Anna

»aufbrezlt«

Uroma

Uropa

Centa & Hans

Schricker

Tante

Elsa

  a bissl an 

   Fasching!

Später

Wann das gesottene Fleisch der Garküche durch die feineren Bratwürste ersetzt wurde, lässt sich nicht genau bestimmen. Vermutlich wurden sie 1806 eingeführt, als die historische Wurstküche von der Stadtkämmerei an den Garkoch Wolfgang Schricker verkauft wurde. Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts beginnt mit dem neuen Eigentümer Wolfgang Schricker die Ära der Familie Schricker, die bis zu den heutigen Eigentümern, der Familie Schricker-Meier, reicht.

Luise

Willer

Margot Hilscher

...und a wengl a Prominenz

Hans

Moser

Centa

Schricker

Uroma

Centa

Uropa

Hans

Tante

Elsa

Oma

Helene

Heute

Zugegeben, die historische Wurstkuchl gehört heute – neben Dom und Steinerner Brücke – ein wenig zum »Reiseführer erprobten Pflichtprogramm« der meisten Regensburg-Besucher. Wir freuen uns über die vielen Gäste aus aller Welt, die der alten Wurstkuchl einen Hauch internationalen Flairs verschaffen. Wir sind und bleiben aber weiterhin ein Ort der Tradition. Das gilt vor allem für die Qualität unserer Speisen und Getränke. Nicht zuletzt deswegen sind uns die Regensburger seit vielen Jahrhunderten treu geblieben.

Brigitte 

Meier

d'

MetzgerBagage

Historische Wurstküche

Andreas Meier e.K.
Thundorferstr. 3
93047 Regensburg
Tel (0941) 466 21-0
Fax (0941) 466 21-21
info@wurstkuchl.de

Öffnungszeiten:

bis 31. März 2019: 10.00 – 18.00 Uhr

ab 01. April 2019: 9.00 – 19.00 Uhr